Home » Crohn's Disease » Good news just keeps on coming

Good news just keeps on coming

Things definitely seem to be turning around for the better in 2015 that’s for sure.

Friday I got a phone call from my newest Doc on the team to make an appointment. Tuesday shall be a busy day. I’m off to see my hematologist to check my iron levels (crossing fingers that they aren’t low) and then off to meet the new Rheumatologist!

Since my hematologist has been suggesting for years now that I may have early stages of lupus my family doctor had followed her suggestion and referred me to a Rheumatologist to investigate the mystery pain that every other doc says can’t possibly be my spleen (despite the fact it’s located where the spleen is). So I’m looking forward to maybe having answers on that front. It couldn’t come at a better time too. I had largely given up that i’d ever get answers to be honest and if you’ve ever had a situation where you couldn’t get answers you know just how hard it is. Any answer is always better than scratching heads.

For the past few weeks my body has been more achy, and my pesky little spot increasing in pain. Despite this I’ve been pushing myself, which i keep getting reminded not to do (um… kind of really hard because I have cabin fever from a year of being housebound). I hope that i’m not getting my hopes up too high but it’d be really nice to at least have a pain management discussion.  After a year of living in pain I’ve gotten pretty good at masking it, working through it, and resting when I need to. But it be kind of nice to have a vacation from it…

Pain is a hard thing to deal with not only for me but those in my life. Those that care about me either don’t understand, or can see it and feel helpless themselves. It’s hard because often i feel like I’m a burden to those around me so I ask little. It’s become so normal for me that I don’t realize I’m doing it anymore.

I have to say though that this past year has brought new friends to me, old friends closer and I’m truly blessed to have fantastic people in my life!

Leave a comment